# Meeting Summary - November 22, 2019

# Ad Hoc Technical Advisory Committee Proposed Approach for Identifying and Strengthening the Supervision of Actively Monitored Plans

# **Meeting Minutes**

Date: Friday, November 22, 2019

Time: 9.30 a.m. to 11:30 p.m.

Location:

Financial Services Regulatory Authority of Ontario

16th floor Boardroom

5160 Yonge Street Toronto ON

### Welcome / Introduction:

Meeting called to order at 9:30 a.m. by Chair. The Chair welcomed the group to the third meeting for Actively Monitored Plans-Technical Advisory Committee (TAC).

#### **Revised Draft Guidance Document**

Committee members reviewed the draft Approach and each member was provided an opportunity to share their individual feedback and comments. FSRA confirmed the purpose of the Approach document is to be declarative and transparent about how FSRA will supervise and engage with single-employer defined benefit pension plans where there may be a concern over the security of the benefits. FSRA agreed to incorporate revisions to the draft Approach document and to circulate the revised document to the committee before publishing the draft Apporach for public consultation in early January 2020.





Committee members and FSRA agreed to have a further meeting in a year to assess the effectiveness of the Approach.

FSRA noted that all Guidance, including this Approach, has an automatic review period of no more than 5 years.

# Wrap up

Adjournment- Meeting was adjourned 11:30 p.m. by Caroline Blouin. Committee members were thanked for their contribution and engagement on this special purpose TAC.

## **Next steps:**

• FSRA extended an invitation to committee members to schedule individual meetings the week of December 9th to exchange further, if desired.

## **Attendance Record**





Invited/Attended	Company Name	Attendance Status (A)ttended; (R)egrets; (S)ubstitute; (TC)Teleconference
Caroline Blouin	FSRA- EVP and TAC Chair	A
Andrea Boctor	Stikeman	A
Jana Steele	Osler	A
Ken Eady	Sears Retirees Association	A
Randy Bauslaugh	McCarthy Tetrault	A
Winston Woo	AGS Auto	TC





Michael Campbell	NRPC- Nortel	TC
Andrew Hatnay	Koskie	TC
Kathryn Bush	Blakes	R
Susan Nickerson	Torys	R
Elizabeth Brown	ВМКР	A
Bev Church	Sears	A
Simon Archer	Goldblatt	TC
Rob Corkum	Mercer	A





Jason Vary	Actuarial Solutions	R
Janis Cooper	Willis Towers	A
David Marshall		TC
Gale Rubenstein	Goodmans	R
Chris Roberts	Canadian Labour Congress	R
Al Kiel	Morneau Shepell	TC
Natalie Wong	MoF	R
David Bartucci	FSRA	A





Tim Thomson	FSRA	A
Mark Eagles	FSRA	Α
Tim Fung	FSRA	A
Andrew Fung	FSRA	Α
Reesha Hosein	FSRA	A
Chantal Laurin	FSRA	A

Available in French upon request.

